Automatically upgraded to Black (not requested)

Joined as a Blue Card member in October 2020. I have just noticed my Card has been upgraded to Black but I didn’t request or authorise this. Exactly the same thing has happened to my wife.

I have contacted Curve through Help to downgrade.

Has this happened to other users?

Do you have to pay the monthly fee? If yes cancel it if not you had a free upgrade.