Curve truly a replacement for all my cards?

I’ve been using curve for a couple of months now, and I absolutely love it.

I have a large number of bank accounts and credit cards so the ability to have one card to replace them all allowing me to carry a much smaller wallet is a dream.

I had no issues with my card in the UK at all. However since being away in the USA I seem to have had issue after issue with my card being declined due to fraud protection leaving me with no money and hours away from being able to unlock it. (Idea submitted to fix this issue). I have been stumped by updates and I have had my card declined yet again by an issue with a payment partner again leaving me with no access to any money.

I by chance brought one of my old bank cards with me so I am able to use that but my plan was to travel without having it. Which would have at times left me with no access to any form of money thousands of miles from home.

I have also been stumped by the rental car company saying that my curve is a debit card even tho the underlining card was a credit this meant I had to prove that I had a flight home before I could collect my car.

This means my dream wallet and advertised product has gone from me needing one card to actually having me starting to question if curve can deliver a single card that does all?

Anyone else having similar problems with this?

1 Like

This doesn’t surprise me. Your Curve card is a debit card. The merchant where you use your Curve card can not see/doesn’t have a clue which underlying card you are using.

For deposits (hotel, car rental) just use your regular Creditcard. The amount will be returned, so no poor FX rates. For the rental period/nights staying itself you should pay with your Curve Card (for better FX rates than your regular Creditcard).

7 Likes

Cards fail from time to time. It really is sensible to carry another card.

5 Likes