Error regarding exchange rates (£ to ¥)

I have an (a potential) issue with 2 transactions I made using my Curve card on 23rd July 2021.

Concerning the exchange rate of £ to ¥ (japanese Yen). As the attached screenshot shows, I made 5 transactions for loosely the same amount give or take… yet 3 of the transactions utilise an exchange rate of £1 = ¥152, whilst 2 of the transactions utilise £1 = ¥76. All 5 transactions were made within a 30 minute window

Is this correct? I understand the theory of a wholesale exchange rate, but I struggle to understand why 2/5 transactions are offering exactly half of the exchange rate, effectively costing me £30+ yet if I had processed the payment through PayPal using my curve card, I wouldn’t have seen this.

I’m new to curve, but is this normal?

A half/double exchange rate issue was also reported about one and a half year ago (but this was on ATM transactions not on purchase transactions):

For example here:

here:

and here:

I believe all these reports however were only ‘display’ issues, so users were not charged incorrectly.
Is in your case only the rate/amount incorrectly displayed, or are you also actually charged the wrong amount on your underlying card?

To me it’s interesting, that looking at your screenshot, both incorrect transactions are apparently GBiT transactions.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for replying!

I’ll give those topics a read, I have definitely been charged the full amount seen on the spreadsheet.

I used GBiT yesterday on the 2 transactions as I wondered (foolishly) if it was an issue with the original card, as one is Credit, the card i changed too been debit.

I can’t actually GBiT on the other 3 transactions, I’m assuming that’s a simple case of them still been pending however?