Why did Curve charge me with weekend fee for paying in EUR from EUR card?

Hello. I thought that I understand Weekend FX fee policy, but it seems that I don’t :frowning:
I knew that Curve and Revolut use higher weekend FX fee, so I bought some EUR on Revolut, set Revo card in Curve app to EUR and go for grocery shopping in my country Poland (polish zloty PLN).

When I pay in PLN they charge me same amount in PLN - for example 15 PLN shopping, 15 PLN paying.
On weekdays when I was paying with EUR (using Revolut card in Curve app) Curve gave me some conversion rate for example 1 PLN = 0,21 EUR that means that if something costs 10 PLN they will charge Revolut card for 2,1 EUR and that is fine by me.
But on weekend I make some grocery shopping and it was weird… it was 67,95 PLN with exchange rate 0,2126 EUR for 1 PLN and… 0,22 EUR fee applied to weekend transaction.

Why? They don’t sell me EUR, I already have EUR on my Revolut account?
I must admit - I’m new to Plutus and trying to get cashback which means I need to have EUR transaction to GBIT to Plutus card later.

Good morning, @KrisPL and welcome to our community :wave:

You must set the currency of the card, in the card’s settings, and set the currency of that card. If the card is set to EURO currency and you make a purchase in PLN, Curve will do the conversion. If you want to avoid this, you should set the card to PLN when making purchases in PLN, and your associated Revolut card will handle the conversion. Curve cannot know what accounts and currencies you have in Revolut.

3 Likes

You can easily remove that fee. Add a virtual Revolut card to Curve, set its currency to EUR and move the transaction with Go Back in Time. Don’t forget to make sure that you have enough EUR on your Revolut balance first.

2 Likes

Good tip, @Oliverda :hugs: